Commonwealth Electoral Division of New England (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:

New England


New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the New England AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area of New England, the largest highland area in Australia.

Size & location description:

New England covers an area of approximately 59 344 sq km from the Queensland border in the north to the Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Tamworth Regional and Walcha local government areas in the south. The main towns include Armidale, Barraba, Bundarra, Deepwater, Glen Innes, Gunnedah, Guyra, Inverell, Manilla, Quirindi, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Uralla, Walcha, Werris Creek and parts of Delungra and Urbenville.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Cattle, sheep, grain, forestry, dairying, oats, maize, fruit, vegetables, tin-mining, bricks, trout hatchery, tourism, concrete pipe works, leather goods, tannery, gemstones, tobacco, lucerne, honey, grain processing, rubber industry, plaster works and concrete.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Windsor, T (IND) 2001–
  • St Clair, S (NP) 1998–2001
  • Sinclair, I (CP/NCP/NP) 1963–1998
  • Drummond, D H (CP) 1949–1963
  • Abbott, J P (CP) 1940–1949
  • Thompson, V C (CP) 1922-1940
  • Hay, A (NAT & FARMERS/CP/IND) 1919–1922
  • Abbott, P P (LIB/NAT) 1913–1919
  • Foster, F J (ALP) 1906–1913
  • Lonsdale, E (FT) 1903–1906
  • Sawers, W B S C (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.