Commonwealth Electoral Division of Hunter (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Hunter AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after John Hunter (1737–1821), second Governor of New South Wales 1795–99.

Size & location description:

Hunter covers an area of approximately 20 111 sq km from Maitland in the east to Cassilis in the west, Murrurundi in the north and south to Wollombi. The main towns include Aberdeen, Branxton, Cessnock, Denman, Kandos, Kurri Kurri, Maitland, Merriwa, Murrurundi, Muswellbrook, Scone and Singleton.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Agriculture, aluminium smelting, coal-mining, dairy farming, engineering, farming, forestry, fruit and vegetables, horse studs and racing, timber milling, tourism, wine grapes, wineries and wool. Liddell Power Station and Bays Water Power Station are also in the division.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Fitzgibbon, J (ALP) 1996–
  • Fitzgibbon, E J (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Brown, R J (ALP) 1980–1984
  • James, A W (ALP) 1960–1980
  • Evatt, H V (ALP) 1958–1960
  • James, R (ALP) 1928–1958
  • Charlton, M (ALP) 1910–1928
  • Liddell, F (FT/ANTI-SOC) 1903–1910
  • Barton, E (PROT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.