2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Eden-Monaro (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Eden-Monaro (2009) [PDF 596KB]
Map of the Division of Eden-Monaro (2009) [PDF 11.5MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after the area in which it is located.
Area and Location Description:
Eden-Monaro covers an area of approximately 29 499 sq km from Queanbeyan to South Durras in the north, south to the Victorian border, extending to the southern and eastern borders of the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.
Products/industries of the area:
Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Kelly, M (ALP) 2007–
Nairn, G (LP) 1996–2007
Snow, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
Sainsbury, M E (LP) 1975–1983
Whan, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
Fraser, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
Munro, D R (LP) 1966–1969
Fraser, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
Perkins, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
Cusack, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
Perkins, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
Chapman, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Eden-Monaro
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Eden-Monaro
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Eden-Monaro
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.