Commonwealth Electoral Division of Eden-Monaro (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Eden-Monaro AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located.

Size & location description:

Eden-Monaro covers an area of approximately 29 499 sq km from Queanbeyan to South Durras in the north, south to the Victorian border, extending to the southern and eastern borders of the Australian Capital Territory. The main towns include Adaminaby, Batemans Bay, Bega, Berridale, Bodalla, Bombala, Braidwood, Bungendore, Captains Flat, Cooma, Dalmeny, Delegate, Eden, Jindabyne, Merimbula, Moruya, Narooma, Queanbeyan, Sutton and Tathra.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Timber industries, beef cattle, sheep and wool, dairy farming, dairy products and mixed farming. The Snowy Mountains hydroelectric scheme, snowfields and tourism are important industries for this division.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Kelly, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Nairn, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Snow, J H J (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Sainsbury, M E (LP) 1975–1983
  • Whan, R B (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Munro, D R (LP) 1966–1969
  • Fraser, A D (ALP) 1943–1966
  • Perkins, J A (UAP) 1931–1943
  • Cusack, J J (ALP) 1929–1931
  • Perkins, J A (NAT) 1926–1929
  • Chapman, A (PROT/LIB/NAT) 1901–1926

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.