2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Cook (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Cook (2009) [PDF 136KB]
Map of the Division of Cook (2009) [PDF 3.7MB]
Download GIS data
Name derivation:
Named after Captain James Cook (1728–79), the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.
Area and Location Description:
Cook covers an area of approximately 100 sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Kirrawee and Bonnet Bay in the west and from Botany Bay and Georges River in the north to that part of the Royal National Park to the east of Farnell Ave, Audley Road and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Bonnet Bay, Burraneer, Caringbah, Caringbah South, Como, Cronulla, Dolans Bay, Grays Point, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kangaroo Point, Kareela, Kirrawee, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Oyster Bay, Port Hacking, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point, Woolooware, Yowie Bay and parts of Jannali and Sutherland.
Products/industries of the area:
Petroleum refineries at Kurnell, steel fabrication, pharmaceutical plant, boat building and oyster farming.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Morrison, S (LP) 2007–
Baird, B (LP) 1998–2007
Mutch, S (LP) 1996–1998
Dobie, J D M (LP) 1975–1996
Thorburn, R W (ALP) 1972–1975
Dobie, J D M (LP) 1969–1972
Cope, J F (ALP) 1955–1969
Sheehan, T (ALP) 1937–1955
Garden, J S (ALP) 1934–1937
Riley, E C (ALP) 1922–1934
Catts, J H (ALP) 1906–1922
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cook
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cook
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Cook
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.