Commonwealth Electoral Division of Cook (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Cook AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Captain James Cook (1728–79), the first European to discover the east coast of Australia in 1770.

Size & location description:

Cook covers an area of approximately 100 sq km from Kurnell and Cronulla in the east to Kirrawee and Bonnet Bay in the west and from Botany Bay and Georges River in the north to that part of the Royal National Park to the east of Farnell Ave, Audley Road and Hacking River in the south. Suburbs include Bonnet Bay, Burraneer, Caringbah, Caringbah South, Como, Cronulla, Dolans Bay, Grays Point, Gymea, Gymea Bay, Kangaroo Point, Kareela, Kirrawee, Kurnell, Lilli Pilli, Miranda, Oyster Bay, Port Hacking, Sylvania, Sylvania Waters, Taren Point, Woolooware, Yowie Bay and parts of Jannali and Sutherland.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Petroleum refineries at Kurnell, steel fabrication, pharmaceutical plant, boat building and oyster farming.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Morrison, S (LP) 2007–
  • Baird, B (LP) 1998–2007
  • Mutch, S (LP) 1996–1998
  • Dobie, J D M (LP) 1975–1996
  • Thorburn, R W (ALP) 1972–1975
  • Dobie, J D M (LP) 1969–1972
  • Cope, J F (ALP) 1955–1969
  • Sheehan, T (ALP) 1937–1955
  • Garden, J S (ALP) 1934–1937
  • Riley, E C (ALP) 1922–1934
  • Catts, J H (ALP) 1906–1922

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.