Commonwealth Electoral Division of Charlton (NSW)

Updated: 3 November 2010

Boundary gazetted:

22 December 2009

Division name:



New South Wales


Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Charlton AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Matthew Charlton (1866–1948), Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1903–10, Member of House of Representatives 1910–28 and leader of ALP 1922–28.

Size & location description:

Charlton covers an area of approximately 688 sq km from Rankin Park, Cardiff Heights, Cardiff South and Garden Suburb in the east, encompassing all of Lake Macquarie, then extending south to Wyee, including Mandalong and Martinsville to the west and Seahampton, West Wallsend and Maryland in the north. Main suburbs include, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Minmi and most of Wallsend in the Newcastle area, Boolaroo, Cardiff, Cooranbong, Edgeworth, Morisset, Speers Point, Toronto, part of Warners Bay, and Wangi Wangi in the Lake Macquarie area.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, and retailing.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Combet, G (ALP) 2007–
  • Hoare, K (ALP) 1998–2007
  • Brown, B (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.