2013 federal election: Profile of the electoral division of Bradfield (NSW)

Updated: 4 September 2013
New South Wales
Current, boundary gazetted 22 December 2009
AEC Divisional Office:
Divisional Office contact details
Maps & GIS data:
A4 map of the Division of Bradfield (2009) [PDF 109KB]
Map of the Division of Bradfield (2009) [PDF 6.6MB]
Download GIS data for the Division of Bradfield
Name derivation:
Named after John Bradfield (1867–1943), engineer and bridge designer.
Area and Location Description:
Bradfield covers an area of approximately 99 sq km border east from Cowan Creek and Middle Harbour Creek to include the suburbs of St Ives Chase, St Ives, East Killara, East Lindfield and Roseville Chase. The southern side border includes Roseville and Lindfield till the Lane Cove River crossing at Fullers Bridge. The western border moves northwest including West Lindfield, West Killara, West Pymble, South Turramurra to Thornleigh. The Northern Railway line marks the northern bordering along with the Pacific Hwy, Ku-ring-gai Chase Rd and Cockle Creek. Suburbs include Wahroonga, Waitara, Hornsby and Asquith.
Products/industries of the area:
Light manufacturing, service industries, commercial businesses and Government offices.
First proclaimed/election:
Demographic rating:
Inner Metropolitan
Fletcher, P (LP) 2009–
Nelson, B (LP) 1996–2009
Connolly, D M (LP) 1974–1996
Turner, H B (LP) 1952–1974
Hughes, W M (LP) 1949–1952
Current member details:
Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website
Further information:
2010 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bradfield
2009 federal by-election results for Bradfield
2007 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bradfield
2004 federal election – House of Representatives results for Bradfield
2010 divisional profile
For supporting information, see Party codes, demographic ratings and seat status.