Current profile for the electoral division of Fremantle

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Fremantle Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800–69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.

Area and Location Description:

Fremantle covers an area of approximately 199 sq km from the Swan River in the north to Jandakot Airport in the east and Wattleup in the south. It also includes Rottnest Island. The main suburbs include Atwell, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Bicton, Coogee, Coolbellup, East Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hilton, Jandakot, North Fremantle, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley, Willagee, Yangebup, and the City of Fremantle.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Small goods factories, ship building, market gardens, brewing, hospitality, tourism and fishing.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Parke, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Lawrence, C (ALP) 1994–2007
  • Dawkins, J S (ALP) 1977–1994
  • Beazley, K E (ALP) 1945–1977
  • Curtin, J (FLP/ALP) 1934–1945
  • Watson, W (UAP) 1931–1934
  • Curtin, J (ALP) 1928–1931
  • Watson, W (IND) 1922–1928
  • Burchell, R J (ALP/NAT) 1913–1922
  • Hedges, W N (WAP/LIB) 1906–1913
  • Carpenter, W H (ALP) 1903–1906
  • Solomon, E (FT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.