2004 Profile of the division of Fremantle

Updated: 29 September 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Fremantle which was named after Captain Charles Fremantle 1800–69 who established the port at the mouth of the Swan River in 1829.

Area and Location Description:

Fremantle covers an area of approximately 200 sq km from the Swan River in the north to Jandakot Airport in the east and Wattleup in the south. It also includes Rottnest Island. The main suburbs include Atwell, Banjup, Beaconsfield, Beeliar, Bibra Lake, Bicton, Coogee, Coolbellup, East Fremantle, Hamilton Hill, Hilton, Jandakot, North Fremantle, Palmyra, Samson, South Fremantle, South Lake, Spearwood, Success, Wattleup, White Gum Valley, Willagee, Yangebup, and the City of Fremantle.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Small goods factories, ship building, market gardens, brewing, hospitality, tourism and fishing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • LAWRENCE, C (ALP) 1994–
  • DAWKINS, J S (ALP) 1977–1994
  • BEAZLEY, K E (ALP) 1945–1977
  • CURTIN, J (FLP/ALP) 1934–1945
  • WATSON, W (UAP) 1931–1934
  • CURTIN, J (ALP) 1928–1931
  • WATSON, W (IND) 1922–1928
  • BURCHELL, R J (ALP/NAT) 1913–1922
  • HEDGES, W N (WAP/LIB) 1906–1913
  • CARPENTER, W H (ALP) 1903–1906
  • SOLOMON, E (FT) 1901–1903

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 83 698
  • Informal Vote: 6.85%
  • Turnout: 93.20%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 42.24% | ALP: 57.76%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.