2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Forrest

Updated: 16 September 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Sir John (later Lord) Forrest 1847–1918, the first Premier of Western Australia 1890–1901.

Area and Location Description:

Forrest covers an area of approximately 21 143 sq km encompassing the south west corner of Western Australia from the Shire of Harvey in the north to the Shire of Manjimup in the south. The main towns include Augusta, Australind, Bridgetown, Bunbury, Busselton, Capel, Collie, Donnybrook, Dunsborough, Eaton, Harvey, Manjimup, Margaret River, Nannup, Pemberton and Yallingup.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Agriculture (beef and dairy cattle, sheep, fruit and vegetables, wine, flowers), forestry (hard and softwoods, wood chipping), mining (coal, mineral sands, tin and tantalite), fisheries, manufacturing, commerce and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Marino, N (LP) 2007–
  • Prosser, G (LP) 1987–2007
  • Drummond, P H (LP) 1972–1987
  • Kirwan, F (ALP) 1969–1972
  • Freeth, G (LP) 1949–1969
  • Lemmon, N (ALP) 1943–1949
  • Prowse, J H (CP) 1922–1943

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Forrest

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.