2010 federal election: Profile for the electoral division of Canning

Updated: 25 October 2011




Western Australia

Contact details:

Contact the Canning Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Alfred Canning 1860–1936, surveyor who pioneered stock roads and rabbit proof fences in Western Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Canning covers an area of approximately 6 178 sq km from the south-east metropolitan areas of Perth to the adjoining rural areas in the east and south, including the Shires of Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Murray and Waroona. The main suburbs include Armadale, Mandurah, Kelmscott, Roleystone, Westfield and Wungong. Other localities include Byford, Cardup, Dwellingup, Forrestdale, Halls Head, Jarrahdale, Mundijong, North Dandalup, Oakford, Pinjarra, Ravenswood, Serpentine, Waroona and Yunderup.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Some heavy and light industry, bauxite mining, stone and citrus fruits, beef and dairy farming, market gardens and forestry.

First Proclaimed/Election:




Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Randall, D (LP) 2001–
  • Gerick, J (ALP) 1998–2001
  • Johnston, R (LP) 1996–1998
  • Gear, G (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Fatin, W F (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Bungey, M H (LP) 1974–1983
  • Hallet, J M (CP) 1963–1974
  • McNeill, N (LP) 1961–1963
  • Hamilton, L W (CP) 1949–1961

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.