2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Canning

Updated: 9 February 2011


Western Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Alfred Canning 1860–1936, surveyor who pioneered stock roads and rabbit proof fences in Western Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Canning covers an area of approximately 4 174 sq km from the south-east metropolitan areas of Perth to the adjoining rural areas in the east and south, including the Shires of Serpentine-Jarrahdale, Murray and Waroona. The main suburbs include Armadale, Canning Vale, Kelmscott, Roleystone, Southern River, Westfield and Wungong. Other localities include Byford, Cardup, Dwellingup, Forrestdale, Halls Head, Jarrahdale, Mundijong, North Dandalup, Oakford, Pinjarra, Ravenswood, Serpentine, Waroona and Yunderup.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Some heavy and light industry, bauxite mining, stone and citrus fruits, beef and dairy farming, market gardens and forestry.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Randall, D (LP) 2001–
  • Gerick, J (ALP) 1998–2001
  • Johnston, R (LP) 1996–1998
  • Gear, G (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Fatin, W F (ALP) 1983–1984
  • Bungey, M H (LP) 1974–1983
  • Hallet, J M (CP) 1963–1974
  • McNeill, N (LP) 1961–1963
  • Hamilton, L W (CP) 1949–1961

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Canning

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.