Current profile for the electoral division of Lyons (Tas)

Updated: 25 October 2011





Contact details:

Contact the Lyons Divisional Office

Name Derivation:

Named after Joseph Lyons 1879–1939, and Dame Enid Lyons 1897–1981

Area and Location Description:

Lyons covers an area of approximately 32 910 sq km and is the largest division in Tasmania covering most of the State from the central highlands in the west to the east coasts and from Beaconsfield township in the north to New Norfolk and the Tasman Peninsula region in the south. The main towns include Beaconsfield, Bridgewater, Brighton, Campbell Town, Deloraine, Dodges Ferry, Evandale, Exeter, Gagebrook, Longford, Midway Point, New Norfolk, Perth, St Helens, Sheffield, Sorell and Westbury.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1984 (This division was previously Wilmot, which was proclaimed in 1903. Its name was changed in 1984.)



Demographic Rating:



  • Adams, D (ALP) 1993–
  • Burr, M A (LP) 1984–1993

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.