2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Lyons

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Joseph Lyons 1879–1939, and Dame Enid Lyons 1897–1981.

Area and Location Description:

Lyons covers an area of approximately 40 604 sq km is the largest division in Tasmania covering most of the State from the west to the east coasts and from Beaconsfield township in the north to New Norfolk and the Tasman Peninsula region in the south. The main towns include Beaconsfield, Brighton, Campbell Town, Deloraine, Dodges Ferry, Evandale, Exeter, Hadspen (part), Longford, Midway Point, New Norfolk, Perth, Queenstown, Richmond, St Helens, Sheffield, Sorell and Westbury.

Products/Industries of the Area:

Fishing, forestry, wool, cattle (dairy and beef), fruit, wine, hydro-power generation, mining and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1984 (This division was previously Wilmot, which was proclaimed in 1903. Its name was changed in 1984.)

Demographic Rating:



  • Adams, D (ALP) 1993–
  • Burr, M A (LP) 1984–1993

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Lyons

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.