2010 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Port Adelaide (SA)

Updated: 24 October 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after the locality which was discovered by Collet Barker in 1831.

Area and Location Description:

Port Adelaide covers an area of approximately 253 sq km from Buckland Park in the north down to Grange Road in the south whilst its eastern boundary takes in parts of Salisbury. The area also includes Torrens Island and Garden Island. Other suburbs in this division are Alberton, Beverley, Birkenhead, Cheltenham, Findon, Kilkenny, Largs Bay, Mansfield Park, Mawson Lakes, North Haven, Ottoway, Parafield Gardens, Paralowie, Pennington, Port Adelaide, Queenstown, Rosewater, Salisbury Downs, Seaton (part), Semaphore, Woodville and West Croydon.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Cement, electricity, flour mills, live sheep export, manufacturing industry, motion pictures, petroleum storage, police academy, salt, sewerage treatment, stevedoring, submarine construction, waste disposal/scrap metal merchants and wool stores.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Butler, M (ALP) 2007–
  • Sawford, R (ALP) 1988–2007
  • Young, M J (ALP) 1974–1988
  • Birrell, F R (ALP) 1963–1974
  • Thompson, A V (ALP) 1949–1963

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.