Commonwealth Electoral Division of Leichhardt (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Leichhardt AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Friedrich Leichhardt (1813–48), explorer and scientist.

Size & location description:

Leichhardt covers an area of approximately 148 988 sq km from the Torres Strait Islands in the north to Bentley Park in the south. The main towns include Aurukun, Bamaga, Cairns (part), Cooktown, Hope Vale, Kowanyama, Kuranda, Lockhart River, Mossman, Pormpuraaw, Port Douglas, Thursday Island and Weipa.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Sugar, tropical fruit, aquaculture, cattle, fishing, mining and tourism.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Turnour, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Entsch, W (LP) 1996–2007
  • Dodd, P G (ALP) 1993–1996
  • Gayler, J (ALP) 1983–1993
  • Thomson, D S (NCP/NP) 1975–1983
  • Fulton, W J (ALP) 1958–1975
  • Bruce, H A (ALP) 1951–1958
  • Gilmore, T V (CP) 1949–1951

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.