Commonwealth Electoral Division of Fairfax (Qld)

Updated: 24 October 2011

Boundary gazetted:

15 December 2009

Division name:





Current, boundary gazetted 15 December 2009 (former divisional profile)

Contact details:

Contact the Fairfax AEC divisional office

Name derivation:

Named after Ruth Fairfax 1878–1948, a founder of the Country Women's Association and its first Queensland president.

Size & location description:

Fairfax covers an area of approximately 1 036 sq km in the central part of the Sunshine Coast Regional Council area. The division extends from Peregian Springs and Eumundi in the north, to Maroochydore, Mountain Creek and Palmwoods in the south to Kenilworth in the west. The main towns include Buderim, Coolum Beach, Eumundi, Kenilworth, Mapleton, Maroochydore, Montville, Nambour, Palmwoods, Peregian Springs, Woombye and Yandina.

Maps & GIS data:

Products/industries of the area:

Avocados, ginger, sugar cane, fruit juice, tropical and exotic fruits, dairy and beef cattle, tourism, construction and infrastructure industries.

First proclaimed/election:


Demographic rating:



  • Somlyay, A (LP) 1990–
  • Adermann, A E (NP) 1984–1990

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.