2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Werriwa

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal name for Lake George, which was located in the division in 1901.

Area and Location Description:

Werriwa covers an area of approximately 160 sq km from Leppington, Hoxton Park, Lurnea and parts of Liverpool in the north, to Blair Athol, Woodbine and Minto Heights in the south, bounded by the Georges River to the east and generally by the Sydney Water Supply Channel, Raby Road, Rileys Creek, Anthony Road, Barry Avenue and Allenby Road to the west. The main suburbs include Blair Athol, Casula, Claymore, Denham Court, Edmondson Park, Eschol Park, Glenfield, Horningsea Park, Hoxton Park, Ingleburn, Leppington, Lurnea, Macquarie Fields, Minto, Minto Heights, Prestons, Raby, St Andrews, Varroville, Woodbine and parts of Liverpool, Leumeah and West Hoxton.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The main industries are light manufacturing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Hayes, C (ALP) 2005–
  • Latham, M (ALP) 1994–2005
  • Kerin, J C (ALP) 1978–1993
  • Whitlam, E G (ALP) 1952–1978
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1934–1952
  • McNicoll, W R (CP) 1931–1934
  • Lazzarini, H P (ALP) 1919–1931
  • Lynch, J (ALP/NAT) 1914–1919
  • Conroy, A H (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Bennett, B H (ALP) 1912–1913
  • Hall, D R (ALP) 1906–1912
  • Conroy, A H (FT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Werriwa

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.