2004 Profile of the division of Werriwa

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the Aboriginal name for Lake George, which was located in the division in 1901.

Area and Location Description:

Werriwa covers an area of approximately 168 sq km from Raby, St Andrews and parts of Leumeah in the south to Kemps Creek, Cecil Hills, Green Valley, Miller, Cartwright, Lurnea and Casula in the north and bounded by the Georges River to the east and generally by South Creek, Kemps Creek and the Camden/Campbelltown Council boundary to the west. The main suburbs include Austral, Cartwright, Casula, Cecil Hills, Denham Court, Edmondson Park, Glenfield, Green Valley, Hinchinbrook, Horningsea Park, Hoxton Park, Ingleburn, Kemps Creek, Leumeah (part), Lurnea, Macquarie Fields, Miller, Minto, Prestons, Raby, St Andrews, Varroville and West Hoxton.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The main industries are light manufacturing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • HAYES, C (ALP) 2005–
  • LATHAM, M (ALP) 1994–2005
  • KERIN, J C (ALP) 1978–1993
  • WHITLAM, E G (ALP) 1952–1978
  • LAZZARINI, H P (ALP) 1934–1952
  • MCNICOLL, W R (CP) 1931–1934
  • LAZZARINI, H P (ALP) 1919–1931
  • LYNCH, J (ALP/NAT) 1914–1919
  • CONROY, A H (LIB) 1913–1914
  • BENNETT, B H (ALP) 1912–1913
  • HALL, D R (ALP) 1906–1912
  • CONROY, A H (FT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

19 March By-election Results:

  • Enrolment: 90 760
  • Informal Vote: 13.15%
  • Turnout: 85.16%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Candidate Preferred: ALP: 70.05% | IND: 29.95%

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 89 764
  • Informal Vote: 7.98%
  • Turnout: 93.92%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 40.69% | ALP: 59.31%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.