2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Throsby

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dr Charles Throsby 1771–1828, a local pioneer who explored the area.

Area and Location Description:

Throsby covers an area of approximately 485 sq km and extends from Kiama Downs, Jamberoo and Barren Grounds in the south to Port Kembla, Kembla Grange and Dombarton in the north to the Pacific Ocean in the east, encompassing Port Kembla Harbour and BHP steel works. The main suburbs include Albion Park, Barrack Heights, Berkeley, Blackbutt, Cringila, Dapto, Kembla Grange, Lake Illawarra, Oak Flats, Port Kembla, Shellharbour, Warilla, Warrawong, Horsley and Shell Cove.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Steel works, mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism, construction, transport, dairy farming and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • George, J (ALP) 2001–
  • Hollis, C (ALP) 1984–2001

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Throsby

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.