2004 Profile of the division of Throsby

Updated: 30 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Dr Charles Throsby 1771–1828, a local pioneer who explored the area.

Area and Location Description:

Throsby covers an area of approximately 387 sq km and extends from the Minnamurra River to Macquarie Pass near Robertson in the south and from the Avon River in the north to the Pacific Ocean, encompassing Port Kembla Harbour and BHP steel works. The main suburbs include Albion Park, Barrack Heights, Berkeley, Blackbutt, Cringila, Dapto, Farmborough Heights, Kembla Grange, Lake Illawarra, Oak Flats, Port Kembla, Shellharbour, Warilla, Warrawong, Horsley, Shell Cove and Unanderra.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

BHP continues to be the area's largest employer and wields much influence on the local economy. Mining, engineering, light and heavy manufacturing, transport, tourism and the building industry all play an important role in the economy of not only this division, but of the nation's entire southeastern seaboard. Significant in this regard are the Coal Loader and Grain Terminal located in Port Kembla's Inner Harbour.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • GEORGE, J (ALP) 2001–
  • HOLLIS, C (ALP) 1984–2001

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 318
  • Informal Vote: 5.53%
  • Turnout: 95.87%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 35% | ALP: 65%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.