2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Sydney

Updated: 12 October 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.

Area and Location Description:

Sydney covers an area of approximately 43 sq km from Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour) in the north to Alexandria, Beaconsfield and Zetland in the south. Bounded in the east by South Dowling Street, Flinders Street, Oxford Street, Riley Street, Boomerang Place, Haig Lane, Sir John Young Crescent, Lincoln Crescent and Woolloomooloo Bay, the division extends to Annandale and Rozelle in the west. The main suburbs include Alexandria, Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Chippendale, Darlington, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Millers Point, Pyrmont, Redfern, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Zetland and parts of Annandale, Camperdown, Darlinghurst, Kings Cross, Macdonaldtown, Newtown, Rozelle and Woolloomooloo. Lord Howe Island is in the Division of Sydney as are the harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Plibersek, T (ALP) 1998–
  • Baldwin, P (ALP) 1983–1998
  • McMahon, J L (ALP) 1975–1983
  • Cope, J F (ALP) 1969–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Sydney

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.