2004 Profile of the division of Sydney

Updated: 30 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Sydney, which was named in 1788 by Captain Arthur Phillip after Viscount Sydney, then British Home Secretary.

Area and Location Description:

Sydney covers an area of approximately 50 sq km from Port Jackson (Sydney Harbour) in the north to Rosebery in the south to Iron Cove in the west. Lord Howe Island is also part of the electorate. The main suburbs include Alexandria, Annandale (part), Balmain, Beaconsfield, Birchgrove, Broadway, Camperdown (part), Chippendale, Darlinghurst, Darlington, Elizabeth Bay, Erskineville, Forest Lodge, Glebe, Haymarket, Kings Cross, Millers Point, Newtown (part), Paddington (part), Potts Point, Rozelle (part), Pyrmont, Redfern, Rosebery (part), Rushcutters Bay, Surry Hills, The Rocks, Ultimo, Waterloo, Woolloomooloo and Zetland. The harbour islands from Spectacle Island to the Heads are also included in this division.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Commercial, financial, retail, merchandising, service, transport, entertainment and shipping industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • PLIBERSEK, T (ALP) 1998–
  • BALDWIN, P (ALP) 1983–1998
  • MCMAHON, J L (ALP) 1975–1983
  • COPE, J F (ALP) 1969–1975

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 94 948
  • Informal Vote: 5.29%
  • Turnout: 91.51%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 33.58% | ALP: 66.42%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.