2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Newcastle

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.

Area and Location Description:

Newcastle covers an area of approximately 335 sq km from Williamtown, Heatherbrae, Millers Forest and Thornton in the north, Lenaghan in the west to Kotara and Adamstown Heights in the south. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Birmingham Gardens, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton, Heatherbrae, Islington, Lambton, Mayfield, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Waratah, Wickham, Williamtown and parts of Adamstown Heights, Jesmond, Kotara, Maryland, Millers Forest, Salt Ash, Thornton and Wallsend.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Grierson, S (ALP) 2001–
  • Morris, A (ALP) 1983–2001
  • Jones, C K (ALP) 1958–1983
  • Watkins, D O (FLP/ALP) 1935–1958
  • Watkins, D (ALP/FLP) 1901–1935

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Newcastle

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.