2004 Profile of the division of Newcastle

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after the city of Newcastle which was named by Governor King in 1804.

Area and Location Description:

Newcastle covers an area of approximately 198 sq km from Stockton, The Hunter River and The New England Hwy in the north. The western boundary of Newcastle City Council and Wallsend, Kotara and Merewether Heights in the south. The main suburbs include Adamstown, Birmingham Gardens, Broadmeadow, Carrington, Cooks Hill, Hamilton, Islington, Jesmond, Kotara, Lambton, Maryland, Mayfield, Merewether, Newcastle, New Lambton, Sandgate, Shortland, Stockton, The Junction, Tighes Hill, Wallsend (part), Waratah and Wickham.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Ship-building and repairs, transport equipment, tourism, tertiary education, food-processing, railway goods, chemicals and heavy engineering. Newcastle is the second largest city in NSW and is a busy port, handling imports and exports.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • GRIERSON, S (ALP) 2001–
  • MORRIS, A (ALP) 1983–2001
  • JONES, C K (ALP) 1958–1983
  • WATKINS, D O (FLP/ALP) 1935–1958
  • WATKINS, D (ALP/FLP) 1901–1935

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 90 360
  • Informal Vote: 4.99%
  • Turnout: 94.72%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 40.02% | ALP: 59.98%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.