2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Moreton

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.

Area and Location Description:

Moreton covers an area of approximately 106 sq km from Fairfield in the north, Graceville, Rocklea and Archerfield in the west, Eight Mile Plains and Kuraby in the east to Drewvale and Berrinba in the South. The main suburbs include Archerfield, Chelmer, Fairfield, Graceville, Karawatha, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Stretton, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tennyson, Yeronga and Yeerongpilly and parts of Algester, Berrinba, Calamvale, Coopers Plains, Drewvale, Eight Mile Plains, Parkinson, Sherwood and Tarragindi.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Perrett, G (ALP) 2007–
  • Hardgrave, G (LP) 1996–2007
  • Gibson, G D (ALP) 1990–1996
  • Cameron, D M (LP) 1983–1990
  • Killen, D J (LP) 1955–1983
  • Francis, J (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1955
  • Wienholt, A (NAT/CP) 1919–1922
  • Sinclair, H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • Wilkinson, J (IND LAB/ALP) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Moreton

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.