2004 Profile of the division of Moreton

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area in which it is located. Captain Cook named Moreton Bay in 1770 after the Earl of Morton, which was misspelt to become Moreton.

Area and Location Description:

Moreton covers an area of approximately 101 sq km from the Brisbane River and Oxley Creek in the north west and east to Eight Mile Plains and Parkinson in the South. The main suburbs include Algester, Calamvale, Chelmer, Coopers Plains, Drewvale, Eight Mile Plains, Graceville, Kuraby, Macgregor, Moorooka, Nathan, Parkinson, Robertson, Rocklea, Runcorn, Salisbury, Sherwood, Sunnybank, Sunnybank Hills, Tarragindi, Tennyson, Yeronga and Yeerongpilly.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mainly residential with some light industrial and commercial activities.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • HARDGRAVE, G (LP) 1996–
  • GIBSON, G D (ALP) 1990–1996
  • CAMERON, D M (LP) 1983–1990
  • KILLEN, D J (LP) 1955–1983
  • FRANCIS, J (NAT/UAP/LP) 1922–1955
  • WIENHOLT, A (NAT/CP) 1919–1922
  • SINCLAIR, H (ANTI-SOC/LIB/NAT) 1906–1919
  • WILKINSON, J (IND LAB/ALP) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 88 324
  • Informal Vote: 4.94%
  • Turnout: 93.87%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 54.17% | ALP: 45.83%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.