2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Maranoa

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the district name which was taken from the Maranoa River which passes through the area. The river was discovered by Sir Thomas Mitchell in 1846 and retained its Aboriginal name.

Area and Location Description:

Maranoa covers an area of approximately 546 830 sq km from the Northern Territory, South Australian and New South Wales borders to Diamantina in the north and Nanango, Warwick and Stanthorpe in the east. The main towns include Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Goondiwindi, Kingaroy, Miles, Roma, St George, Stanthorpe, Tara, Thargomindah and Warwick.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Scott, B (NP) 1990–
  • Cameron, I M D (NCP/NP) 1980–1990
  • Corbett, J (CP/NCP) 1966–1980
  • Brimblecombe, W J (CP) 1951–1966
  • Russell, C W (CP) 1949–1951
  • Adermann, C F (CP) 1943–1949
  • Baker, F P (ALP) 1940–1943
  • Hunter, J A J (CP) 1921–1940
  • Page, J (ALP) 1901–1921

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Maranoa

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.