2004 Profile of the division of Maranoa

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the district name which was taken from the Maranoa River which passes through the area. The river was discovered by Sir Thomas Mitchell in 1846 and retained its Aboriginal name.

Area and Location Description:

Maranoa covers an area of approximately 779 329 sq km from the Northern Territory, South Australian and New South Wales borders to Winton in the north and Dalby in the east. The main towns include Barcaldine, Blackall, Capella, Charleville, Chinchilla, Cunnamulla, Dalby, Emerald, Goondiwindi, Longreach, Miles, Roma, Stanthorpe, Warwick and Winton.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly primary production including coal, oil, gas, orchards, cotton, grain, cattle and sheep.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • SCOTT, B (NP) 1990–
  • CAMERON, I M D (NCP/NP) 1980–1990
  • CORBETT, J (CP/NCP) 1966–1980
  • BRIMBLECOMBE, W J (CP) 1951–1966
  • RUSSELL, C W (CP) 1949–1951
  • ADERMANN, C F (CP) 1943–1949
  • BAKER, F P (ALP) 1940–1943
  • HUNTER, J A J (CP) 1921–1940
  • PAGE, J (ALP) 1901–1921

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 874
  • Informal Vote: 4.76%
  • Turnout: 94.48%
  • Seat Status: Safe National
  • Two Party Preferred: NP: 70.93% | ALP: 29.07%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.