2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Longman

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Irene Longman 1877–1964, first female member of the Queensland Parliament 1929–1932, and third woman elected to a parliament in Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Longman covers an area of approximately 477 sq km covering much of the local government area of Caboolture and a portion of the northern part of Pine Rivers Shire. Suburbs and towns include Beachmere, Bribie Island, Burpengary, Dakabin, Deception Bay, Donnybrook, Kallangur, Ningi, North Lakes, Toorbul and parts of Caboolture, Morayfield and Narangba.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Tourism, light industry, beef cattle, horse studs, prawn farming, poultry farms, pig farming, and various crops including grains, pineapples, fruit and flower farms.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Sullivan, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Brough, M (LP) 1996–2007

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Longman

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.