2004 Profile of the division of Longman

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Irene Longman 1877–1964, first female member of the Queensland Parliament 1929–1932, and third woman elected to a parliament in Australia.

Area and Location Description:

Longman covers an area of approximately 1 673 sq km covering most of the local government area of Caboolture and the southern part of Caloundra City. Suburbs and towns include Beachmere, Bribie Island, Burpengary, Caboolture, Deception Bay, Glass House Mountains, Landsborough, Morayfield, Narangba, Peachester, Wamuran and Woodford.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Dairying, beef cattle, horse studs, poultry farms, pig farming, and various crops including grains, pineapples, fruit, flower farms and tourism.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • BROUGH, M (LP) 1996–

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 216
  • Informal Vote: 5.64%
  • Turnout: 94.50%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 57.66% | ALP: 42.34%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.