2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Hughes

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Hughes 1862–1952, Prime Minister of Australia 1915–23.

Area and Location Description:

Hughes covers an area of approximately 265 sq km from the Georges River in the north to Cabramatta Creek, Maxwells Creek, Hoxton Park Road, Terminus Street and the Georges River in the west. The Illawarra Railway line, Old Princes Highway, Princes Highway, Farnell Ave, Audley Road and Hacking River make up the eastern boundary, with the Sutherland and Liverpool Local Government areas providing the boundary to the south. The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bonnet Bay, Chipping Norton, Engadine, Hammondville, Heathcote, Holsworthy, Illawong, Jannali, Loftus, Lucas Heights, Menai, Moorebank, Warwick Farm, Wattle Grove, Woronora and parts of Como, Jannali, Liverpool, Sutherland and Waterfall.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army base at Holsworthy.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Vale, D (LP) 1996–
  • Tickner, R E (ALP) 1984–1996
  • Johnson, L R (ALP) 1969–1983
  • Dobie, J D (LP) 1966–1969
  • Johnson, L R (ALP) 1955–1966

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Hughes

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.