2004 Profile of the division of Hughes

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Hughes 1862–1952, Prime Minister of Australia 1915–23.

Area and Location Description:

Hughes covers an area of approximately 265 sq km from the Georges River in the north and west, through to the Royal National Park at Waterfall in the south and Sutherland, Jannali and Oyster Bay in the east. The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bonnet Bay, Chipping Norton, Como, Engadine, Hammondville, Heathcote, Holsworthy, Illawong, Jannali, Lucas Heights, Menai, Moorebank, Oyster Bay, Sutherland, Waterfall, Wattle Grove and Woronora Heights.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army base at Holsworthy.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • VALE, D (LP) 1996–
  • TICKNER, R E (ALP) 1984–1996
  • JOHNSON, L R (ALP) 1969–1983
  • DOBIE, J D (LP) 1966–1969
  • JOHNSON, L R (ALP) 1955–1966

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 87 281
  • Informal Vote: 5.07%
  • Turnout: 95.45%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 61.04% | ALP: 38.96%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.