2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Griffith

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Samuel Griffith 1845–1920, Premier of Queensland 1883–88, 1890–93 and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia 1903–19.

Area and Location Description:

Griffith covers an area of approximately 56 sq km of the southern Brisbane suburban area. The main suburbs include Balmoral, Bulimba, Camp Hill, Carina Heights, Coorparoo, Dutton Park, East Brisbane, Greenslopes, Highgate Hill, Hawthorne, Kangaroo Point, Morningside, Norman Park, Seven Hills, South Brisbane, Woolloongabba and parts of Annerley, Cannon Hill, Carina, Holland Park, Holland Park West, Mount Gravatt East, Murarrie, Tarragindi and West End.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mostly residential with some food processing and light industry. It is also the location of the world famous Brisbane Cricket Ground known as The Gabba.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1934 (Griffith became a division in 1934 but was previously known as Oxley which became a division in 1900.)

Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Rudd, K (ALP) 1998–
  • McDougall, G (LP) 1996–1998
  • Humphreys, B C (ALP) 1977–1996
  • Cameron, D M (LP) 1966–1977
  • Coutts, W C (ALP) 1961–1966
  • Chresby, A A (LP) 1958–1961
  • Coutts, W C (ALP) 1954–1958
  • Berry, D R (LP) 1949–1954
  • Conelan, W P (ALP) 1939–1949
  • Baker, F M (FLP) 1934–1939

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Griffith

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.