2004 Profile of the division of Griffith

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Sir Samuel Griffith 1845–1920, Premier of Queensland 1883–88, 1890–93 and Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia 1903–19.

Area and Location Description:

Griffith covers an area of approximately 59 sq km of the southern Brisbane suburban area. The main suburbs include Annerley (part), Balmoral, Bulimba, Camp Hill, Cannon Hill (part), Carina (part), Carina Heights, Coorparoo, Dutton Park, East Brisbane, Fairfield, Greenslopes, Highgate Hill, Hawthorne, Holland Park, Holland Park West (part), Kangaroo Point, Morningside, Mount Gravatt East (part), Murarrie (part), Norman Park, South Brisbane, Tarragindi (part), West End and Woolloongabba .

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area is mostly residential with some food processing and light industry. It is also the location of the world famous Brisbane Cricket Ground known as The Gabba.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1934 (Griffith became a division in 1934 but was previously known as Oxley which became a division in 1900.)

Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • RUDD, K (ALP) 1998–
  • MCDOUGALL, G (LP) 1996–1998
  • HUMPHREYS, B C (ALP) 1977–1996
  • CAMERON, D M (LP) 1966–1977
  • COUTTS, W C (ALP) 1961–1966
  • CHRESBY, A A (LP) 1958–1961
  • COUTTS, W C (ALP) 1954–1958
  • BERRY, D R (LP) 1949–1954
  • CONELAN, W P (ALP) 1939–1949
  • BAKER, F M (FLP) 1934–1939

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 90 950
  • Informal Vote: 4.26%
  • Turnout: 92.47%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 41.37% | ALP: 58.63%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.