2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Gippsland

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the area which was explored by Angus McMillan in 1839. It was named after Governor Sir George Gipps.

Area and Location Description:

Gippsland covers an area of approximately 33 264 sq km from the New South Wales border in the north-east to Port Albert in the south-west. The main towns include Bairnsdale, Churchill, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Maffra, Morwell, Stratford, Traralgon, Yarram, Orbost, Rosedale and Sale.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Dairying, beef, fishing, forestry, sheep, cropping, sawmills, vegetables, oil, gas, tourism and correctional services, RAAF Base (East Sale).

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • McGauran, P (NP) 1983–
  • Nixon, P J (CP/NCP/NP) 1961–1983
  • Bowden, G J (CP) 1943–1961
  • Paterson, T (CP/LCP) 1922–1943
  • Wise, G H (PROT/NAT) 1914–1922
  • Bennett, J (LIB) 1913–1914
  • Wise, G H (PROT) 1906–1913
  • McLean, A (PROT) 1901–1906

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Gippsland

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.