2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Fowler

Updated: 16 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Lilian Fowler 1887–1954, first woman alderman in New South Wales 1929–48 and first woman mayor in Australia 1938–39, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1944–50.

Area and Location Description:

Fowler covers an area of approximately 247 sq km extending from Canley Heights and Cabramatta West in the east to Silverdale and Warragamba in the west. Bounded in the southeast by Maxwells Creek, the southern boundary extends west along Hoxton Park Road, the Sydney Water Supply Channel, Bringelly Road, Greendale Road, Bringelly Creek, Nepean River, Bushrangers Creek, Taylors Road, Eltons Road and Werriberri Creek to Warragamba Dam. The northern boundary extends east following Warragamba River, the Sydney Water Supply Pipeline, Littlefields Road, Elizabeth Drive, Sydney Water Supply Channel, Prairie Vale Road and Orphan School Creek. Suburbs include Ashcroft, Austral, Bonnyrigg, Bonnyrigg Heights, Busby, Cabramatta West, Cartwright, Cecil Hills, Edensor Park, Green Valley, Greendale, Greenfield Park, Heckenberg, Mt Pritchard, Middleton Grange, Miller, Sadleir, St Johns Park, Wakeley, Warragamba and parts of Abbotsbury, Badgerys Creek, Bringelly, Cabramatta, Canley Heights, Canley Vale, Silverdale and Wallacia.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The main industries are horticulture, mixed farming and market gardens, light manufacturing, retail and service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Irwin, J (ALP) 1998–
  • Grace, T (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Fowler

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.