2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Farrer

Updated: 16 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Farrer 1845–1906, a noted wheat breeder and experimentalist.

Area and Location Description:

Farrer covers an area of approximately 199 925 sq km in southern and western New South Wales stretching along the Murray River from the Shire of Greater Hume in the east to the South Australian border in the west and the Queensland border in the north including Unincorporated NSW to the north and east of Broken Hill. Albury and Broken Hill City Council areas are located in Farrer, as are the shires of Balranald, Berrigan, Conargo, Corowa, Deniliquin, Greater Hume, Hay, Jerilderie, Lockhart, Murray, Wakool, Wentworth, Urana and part of Central Darling including the town of Menindee.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Large-scale irrigation areas, around Deniliquin and Wentworth, produce dairy products, fat sheep and cattle, orchard and vine crops, apples and rice. Other major agricultural products include wool, timber, wheat and cereals. Many industries are based on the processing of agricultural products, such as the Australian Newsprint Mills at Albury and the largest rice mill in the southern hemisphere at Deniliquin. Other industries include mining, tourism and agricultural service industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Ley, S (LP) 2001–
  • Fischer, T (NP) 1984–2001
  • Fife, W C (LP) 1975–1984
  • Fairbairn, D E (LP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Farrer

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.