2004 Profile of the division of Farrer

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after William Farrer 1845–1906, a noted wheat breeder and experimentalist.

Area and Location Description:

Farrer covers some 15 Shires, approximately 96 844 sq km in southern NSW and shares boundaries with the New South Wales divisions of Riverina and Parkes in the north and Hume and Eden-Monaro in the east. Farrer stretches along the Murray River from Mount Kosciuszko in the east to the South Australian border in the west. The largest city is Albury. Other major towns include Batlow, Deniliquin, Corowa, Finley and Tumut.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Large scale irrigation areas, such as around Deniliquin and Wentworth, produce dairy products, fat sheep and cattle, orchard and vine crops, apples and rice. Other major agricultural products include wool, timber, wheat and cereals. Many industries are based on the processing of agricultural products, such as the Australian Newsprint Mills at Albury and the largest rice mill in the southern hemisphere at Deniliquin. Other industries include the preparation of dairy goods, juices and wines, and Tumut contains a portion of the Snowy Mountain hydro-electric scheme.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • LEY, S (LP) 2001–
  • FISCHER, T (NP) 1984–2001
  • FIFE, W C (LP) 1975–1984
  • FAIRBAIRN, D E (LP) 1949–1975

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 712
  • Informal Vote: 6.70%
  • Turnout: 95.16%
  • Seat Status: Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 69.82% | ALP: 30.18%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.