2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Cunningham

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Allan Cunningham 1791–1839, an early Australian explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Cunningham covers an area of approximately 496 sq km from Coniston, Unanderra and Farmborough Heights in the south, to Helensburgh in the north, and is bounded generally in the west by the mountain range. The main suburbs include Austinmer, Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Clifton, Coalcliff, Coledale, Coniston, Cordeaux Heights, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Figtree, Gwynneville, Helensburgh, Keiraville, Mangerton, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Mount Ousley, Mount Saint Thomas, Otford, Russell Vale, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Tarrawanna, Thirroul, Towradgi, West Wollongong, Wollongong, Wombarra, Woonona and part of Unanderra.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing and textiles.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Bird, S (ALP) 2004–
  • Organ, M (GRN) 2002–2004
  • Martin, S (ALP) 1993–2002
  • West, S J (ALP) 1977–1993
  • Connor, R F X (ALP) 1963–1977
  • Kearney, V D (ALP) 1956–1963
  • Davies, W (ALP) 1949–1956

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Cunningham

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.