2004 Profile of the division of Cunningham

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Allan Cunningham 1791–1839, an early Australian explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Cunningham covers an area of approximately 490 sq km from Cordeaux Heights, Figtree and Coniston in the south, to Helensburgh in the north, and is bounded generally in the west by the mountain range. The main suburbs include Austinmer, Balgownie, Bellambi, Bulli, Clifton, Coalcliff, Coledale, Coniston, Cordeaux Heights, Corrimal, Darkes Forest, Fairy Meadow, Figtree, Gwynneville, Helensburgh, Keiraville, Mount Keira, Mount Kembla, Mount Ousley, Mount Saint Thomas, Otford, Russell Vale, Scarborough, Stanwell Park, Tarrawanna, Thirroul, Towradgi, Unanderra, Wollongong, Wombarra and Woonona.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Wollongong is the commercial centre of the Illawarra, servicing tourism, tertiary education, steel production, coal mining, brick manufacturing, textiles & dairy-farming.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • BIRD, S (ALP)–
  • ORGAN, M (GRN) 2002–2004
  • MARTIN, S (ALP) 1993–2002
  • WEST, S J (ALP) 1977–1993
  • CONNOR, R F X (ALP) 1963–1977
  • KEARNEY, V D (ALP) 1956–1963
  • DAVIES, W (ALP) 1949–1956

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 81 844
  • Informal Vote: 6.45%
  • Turnout: 95.67%
  • Seat Status: Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 38.54% | ALP: 61.46%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.