2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Charlton

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Matthew Charlton 1866–1948, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1903–10, Member of House of Representatives 1910–28 and leader of ALP 1922–28.

Area and Location Description:

Charlton covers an area of approximately 578 sq km from Rankin Park, Cardiff Heights, Cardiff South and Garden Suburb in the east, encompassing all of Lake Maquarie, then extending south to Wyee, including Mandalong and Martinsville to the west and Seahampton, West Wallsend and Maryland in the north. Main suburbs include, Elermore Vale, Fletcher, Minmi and most of Wallsend in the Newcastle area, Boolaroo, Cardiff, Cooranbong, Edgeworth, Morisset, Speers Point, Toronto, Warners Bay, and Wangi Wangi in the Lake Macquarie area.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, and retailing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • Combet, G (ALP) 2007–
  • Hoare, K (ALP) 1998–2007
  • Brown, B (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Charlton

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.