2004 Profile of the division of Charlton

Updated: 29 September 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Matthew Charlton 1866–1948, Member of the New South Wales Legislative Assembly 1903–10, Member of House of Representatives 1910–28 and leader of ALP 1922–28.

Area and Location Description:

Charlton covers an area of approximately 567 sq km from Cardiff, Warners Bay, Wallsend and Garden Suburb in the east, south to Wyee and north to Wallsend. The main suburbs include Cardiff, Edgeworth, and Wallsend in the Newcastle area and Boolaroo, Charlestown, Speers Point, Toronto, Wangi Wangi, Warners Bay, Morisset and Wyee in the Lake Macquarie area.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Light and heavy engineering, timber, textiles, some dairy farms and poultry farming, tourism, coal-mining, electricity, sulphide production and retailing.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:



  • HOARE, K (ALP) 1998–
  • BROWN, B (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 85 547
  • Informal Vote: 4.96%
  • Turnout: 95.73%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 42.08% | ALP: 57.92%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.