2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Canberra

Updated: 9 February 2011


Australian Capital Territory

Name Derivation:

A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.

Area and Location Description:

Canberra covers an area of approximately 1 921 sq km including Capital Hill and adjacent suburbs, Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the industrial areas of Fyshwick and Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee and Molonglo Rivers. Those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory are enrolled in the Division of Canberra.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential with some light industry at Fyshwick and Hume, tourism and retail industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1974 (Prior to 1974 – Australian Capital Territory.)

Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Ellis, A (ALP) 1998–
  • McMullan, B (ALP) 1996–1998
  • Smyth, B M (LP) 1995–1996
  • Kelly, R J (ALP) 1980–1995
  • Haslem, J W (LP) 1975–1980
  • Enderby, K E (ALP) 1974–1975

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Canberra

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.