2004 Profile of the division of Canberra

Updated: 29 September 2011


Australian Capital Territory

Name Derivation:

A locality name derived from an Aboriginal word which is held to mean 'meeting place'.

Area and Location Description:

Canberra covers an area of approximately 1 900 sq km from the whole of Weston Creek, Woden Valley, Stromlo, Tuggeranong, Oaks Estate, the south Canberra suburbs of Yarralumla, Parkes, Forrest, Deakin, Red Hill, the industrial area of Hume and the remainder of the ACT to the south and west of the Murrumbidgee River. It also includes those Norfolk Island residents entitled to enrol in the Australian Capital Territory.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential with some light industry at Hume, tourism, and retail industries. Many people who reside in the division of Canberra are employed by the government.

First Proclaimed/Election:

1974 (Prior to 1974 – Australian Capital Territory.)

Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • ELLIS, A (ALP) 1998–
  • MCMULLAN, B (ALP) 1996–1998
  • SMYTH, B M (LP) 1995–1996
  • KELLY, R J (ALP) 1980–1995
  • HASLEM, J W (LP) 1975–1980
  • ENDERBY, K E (ALP) 1974–1975

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 109 476
  • Informal Vote: 3.40%
  • Turnout: 95.20%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 40.38% | ALP: 59.62%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.