2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Maribyrnong

Updated: 9 February 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after the Maribyrnong River. Maribyrnong is an Aboriginal word for 'yam' or 'edible root'.

Area and Location Description:

Maribyrnong covers an area of approximately 71 sq km from Essendon in the east to St Albans in the west, Tullamarine in the north to Brooklyn in the south. The suburbs include: Aberfeldie, Airport West, Albion, Avondale Heights, Brooklyn (part), Essendon, Essendon North, Essendon West, Kealba, Keilor East, Keilor Park, Maribyrnong (part), Moonee Ponds, Niddrie, St Albans (part), Sunshine, Sunshine North and Tullamarine (part).

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly suburban housing, with areas of light manufacturing and retail businesses. The division contains Honda Australia's main centre and Caterpillar of Australia Ltd. Recreational landmarks include Moonee Valley Racecourse and Brimbank Park.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • Sercombe, B (ALP) 1996–
  • Griffiths, A G (ALP) 1983–1996
  • Cass, M H (ALP) 1969–1983
  • Stokes, P W C (LP) 1955–1969
  • Drakeford, A S (FLP/ALP) 1934–1955
  • Fenton, J E (ALP/UAP) 1910–1934
  • Mauger, S (PROT) 1906–1910

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Maribyrnong

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.