2007 federal election: Profile of the Electoral Division of Blaxland

Updated: 9 February 2011


New South Wales

Name Derivation:

Named after Gregory Blaxland 1778–1853, an early Australian explorer of the Blue Mountains in New South Wales.

Area and Location Description:

Blaxland covers an area of approximately 58 sq km from Cabramatta, Fairfield East and Yennora in the west, to Greenacre in the east, Guildford West, Chester Hill and Chullora in the north to Rabaul Road, Marion Street and the Sydenham–Bankstown railway line in the south. Suburbs include Bass Hill, Birrong, Carramar, Chullora, Fairfield East, Georges Hall, Guildford West, Old Guildford, Landsdowne, Lansvale, Mt. Lewis, Woodpark, Yagoona, Yennora and parts of Bankstown, Cabramatta, Chester Hill, Greenacre, Punchbowl, Sefton, Villawood and Wiley Park.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Railway workshops, aircraft repairs, transport and storage industries.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • Clare, J (ALP) 2007–
  • Hatton, M (ALP) 1996–2007
  • Keating, P J (ALP) 1969–1996
  • Harrison, E J (ALP) 1949–1969

Current Member Details:

Please refer to the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

Divisional Office Contact Details

2007 Federal Election Results:

House of Representatives results for Blaxland

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.