2004 Profile of the division of Sturt

Updated: 30 September 2011


South Australia

Name Derivation:

Named after Captain Charles Sturt 1795–1869, explorer.

Area and Location Description:

Sturt covers an area of approximately 84 sq km east of the city of Adelaide, from Oakden and Hope Valley in the north to Glen Osmond in the south, taking in the foothills of the Mount Lofty Ranges. Suburbs include Athelstone, Burnside, Campbelltown, Dernacourt Frewville, Gilles Plains, Glynde, Glenside, Highbury, Hillcrest, Holden Hill, Kensington, Klemzig, Magill, Marden, Paradise, Payneham Rostrevor and Tranmere.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

Mainly residential with some commercial and retail activity.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Inner Metropolitan


  • PYNE, C (LP) 1993–
  • WILSON, I B C (LP) 1972–1993
  • FOSTER, N K (ALP) 1969–1972
  • WILSON, I B C (LP) 1966–1969
  • WILSON, K C (LP) 1955–1966
  • MAKIN, N J O (ALP) 1954–1955
  • WILSON, K C (LP) 1949–1954

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 96 785
  • Informal Vote: 5.04%
  • Turnout: 94.79%
  • Seat Status: Fairly Safe Liberal
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 56.8% | ALP: 43.2%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.