2004 Profile of the division of Rankin

Updated: 29 September 2011



Name Derivation:

Named after Dame Annabelle Rankin 1908–86, first Queensland woman elected to the Senate 1946–71 and the first Australian woman to hold a top-level diplomatic post as High Commissioner to New Zealand 1971–74.

Area and Location Description:

Rankin covers an area of approximately 160 sq km taking in some outer suburbs of Brisbane through Logan City, east to the Redland Bay Shire boundary, south to the Logan Freeway along the boundary between Logan and Beaudesert Shires and west to Greenbank, Boronia Heights and Park Ridge. The division includes the suburbs of Logan City as well as portions of the Brisbane suburb of Kuraby, Eight Mile Plains, Drewvale and Runcorn.

Map of Division:

Products/Industries of the Area:

The area covers a diverse area from residential and acreage suburbs as well as some light industry.

First Proclaimed/Election:


Demographic Rating:

Outer Metropolitan


  • EMERSON, C (ALP) 1998–
  • BEDDALL, D (ALP) 1984–1998

Current Member Details:

See the Parliament of Australia website

AEC Divisional Office Address:

See Divisional Office Contact Details

2004 Federal Election Results:

  • Enrolment: 91 034
  • Informal Vote: 7.19%
  • Turnout: 92.89%
  • Seat Status: Marginal Labor
  • Two Party Preferred: LP: 46.77% | ALP: 53.23%

Further information:

For supporting information, see Party Codes, Demographic Ratings and Seat Status.